Posted in Uncategorized

Separation of church and state – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


Separation of church and state – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The concept of separation of church and state refers to the distance in the relationship between organized religion and the nation state. The term is an offshoot of the phrase, “wall of separation between church and state,” as written in Thomas Jefferson‘s letter to the Danbury Baptists Association in 1802. The original text reads: “…I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should ‘make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,’ thus building a wall of separation between Church & State.” Jefferson reflected his frequent speaking theme that the government is not to interfere with religion.[1] The phrase was quoted by the United States Supreme Court first in 1878, and then in a series of cases starting in 1947. Like many other governing principles, the phrase “separation of church and state” itself does not appear in the U.S. Constitution. The First Amendment to the Constitution states that “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.”

The concept of separation has since been adopted in a number of countries, to varying degrees depending on the applicable legal structures and prevalent views toward the proper role of religion in society. A similar principle of laïcitéhas been applied in France and Turkey, while some socially secularized countries such as Norway have maintained constitutional recognition of an official state religion. The concept parallels various other international social and political ideas, including secularism, disestablishment, religious liberty, and religious pluralism. Whitman (2009) observes that in many European countries, the state has, over the centuries, taken over the social roles of the church, leading to a generally secularized public sphere.[2]donnie harold harris on Twitter Counter.com

Author:

Political party-Me-Thank you for allowing me to tell you who I am. My story starts out a little unusual. I have perfect recall. Which is kinda like the perfect pitch is in music. I remember everything. Allowing me to never have to remember anything as it happens. Here goes You are the first to hear my story. I was born 8/1/53 @ 7:26 AM. My mother was a 19-year-old named Mary. I was her 7Th child. She turned 20 the next day. I am an Identical twin. 3 minutes after My brother Who disappeared be for I was born 3 minutes later. I was very healthy; he was a very sick baby (TTTS) needing a blood transfusion and incubator for 3 months. So we meet down the road a piece. What happened to me was also bad. I was circumcised against my knowing approval. Fast forward By the time I would finish 8th grade at 15 years old-10 years of schooling/2nd grade done 2 times, I would go to 21-grade schools some more than once. Live in the guardians' home 5 /6 times; adding up to over 2 years. I would live in over 100 houses. Meeting 10,000 other kids. My friend I am not a republican. But an Ex-Democrat. One that is for the most in number. I believe our rights start at birth -completely. That government is a privilege and not a right. We are the citizenry, and permanent. The government is temporary. Not our right of citizenship and our greater right as a human. Can you help us all?

One thought on “Separation of church and state – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

  1. One can not live on bread alone,yet poison in my coffee makes me see things..As we move to a new broader line of basic cause of people, releasing the older bindings of religion,we must not turn only to hard science( the way by men)without full representational cause of the healing feminineness in all things.

    Like

Comments are closed.